This is a WiP. To some extent it’s a dumping ground at the moment, and not organized. It’ll get better.

A bunch of sources – https://cynnabar.org/files/Citadel2016-Fall.pdf?fbclid=IwAR1QkEA9Lcx_qVy7IX7GlrrIB27eL5XEn6JYWK_oF5dQqQSJ9ySiJExaoDo

greenpeach-celt-knot-div

Typing up some recipes with notes…I’ll post the links here. 

  1. Boar Stew – https://housecapuchin.com/winter-feast/winter-feast-norse-feast-as-lvi-february-2022/foods-from-the-norse-viking-era/boar-stew-from-an-early-meal/
  2. Wild Leaf Herb and Cheese Pottage – https://housecapuchin.com/winter-feast/winter-feast-norse-feast-as-lvi-february-2022/foods-from-the-norse-viking-era/wild-leaf-herb-and-cheese-pottage/
  3. Angelica Flavored Vegetarian Porridge – https://housecapuchin.com/angelica-flavored-vegetarian-porridge/
  4. Pickled Kale Lamb – https://housecapuchin.com/pickled-kale-lamb/
  5. Pickled Turnips – https://housecapuchin.com/pickled-turnips/
  6. Birka, Filled spit-roasted chicken – https://housecapuchin.com/filled-spit-roasted-chicken/
  7. Bread from Birka – https://housecapuchin.com/bread-from-birka/
  8. Wheat Frumenty with Cheese – https://housecapuchin.com/wheat-frumenty-with-cheese/
  9. Berry Sauce for Red Meat – https://housecapuchin.com/berry-sauce-for-red-meat/
  10. Peas in a Bag – https://housecapuchin.com/winter-feast/winter-feast-norse-feast-as-lvi-february-2022/foods-from-the-norse-viking-era/peas-in-a-bag/
  11. Bread in a Bag – https://housecapuchin.com/winter-feast/winter-feast-norse-feast-as-lvi-february-2022/foods-from-the-norse-viking-era/bread-in-a-bag/
  12. Skyr – https://housecapuchin.com/winter-feast/winter-feast-norse-feast-as-lvi-february-2022/foods-from-the-norse-viking-era/skyr/
  13. Poached halibut – https://housecapuchin.com/poached-halibut/
  14. Hazelnut Treats – https://housecapuchin.com/hazelnut-treats/

Possible but not typed up, yet.

  • Apple frumenty
  • Salmon on Turnip Stew
  • Traditional Cheese
  • Malt Patties

Maybe, maybe not

  • Alu Laker – Sauce for smoked meat
  • Buttered Turnip
  • Traveler’s Porridge
  • Ryebread with smoked barley
  • Goose Stew
  • Turnips and

Not planning on, either because of alcohol, unavailable ingredients, equipment or “ick” factor.

  • Norse Stockfish
  • Cooking Pit Goat
  • Royal Horse Broth
  • Spit-roast heart
  • Rose Hip Mead
  • Kettle Worms
  • Steamed Mussels with Fennel and Leek
  • Oysters baked on Embers
  • Simmered Mackerel
  • Alenog
  • Ember-baked Turnips
  • Herring and Oats
  • Calf’s Tongue
  • Baked Marrow

greenpeach-celt-knot-div

Page created and published 8/29/21 (2021)M. Bartlett
Last updated 9/16/21